Maine Law & Resources
There are laws regarding Homeschooling in every state in America, including Maine.
Check out Maine state laws regarding Homeschooling, as well as other helpful resources.
Maine Revised Statute
Compulsory Attendance Ages: 6 years of age and under 17, or graduated, or 15 with parent and school board permission, or full-time attendance at accredited college with commissioner approval, MRSA tit. 20-A, § 5001-A sub-§§1 and 2.
Required Days of Instruction: Notice of intent must provide assurance of 175 days.
Required Subjects: English and language arts, math, science, social studies, physical education, health education, library skills, fine arts, Maine studies (in one grade between grades 6 and 12), and computer proficiency (in one grade between grades 7 and 12). Me. Rev. Stat. tit. 20-A, § 5001-A(3)(A)(4)(a)(iv).
Summary of Homeschool Statute: Maine Revised Statutes Annotated (MRSA) title (tit.) 20-A, §5001-A, sub-§3A.(4). A person is excused from attending school if instructed in a home instruction program meeting the following statutory requirements.
Within 10 days of starting home instruction for a student, file a one-time notice of intent with both your local superintendent* and commissioner of education containing:
a. name, signature, and address of the parent or guardian,
b. the name and age of the student,
c. the date home instruction will or did begin,
d. a statement of assurance that instruction will be provided for at least 175 days annually and will cover the subjects listed above, and
e. a statement of assurance that the parents will submit a year-end assessment.
Each year thereafter by September 1, submit a subsequent letter to both your local superintendent and state commissioner of education enclosing your year-end assessment (see “Standardized Tests” below) and stating whether you intend to continue the student’s home instruction. MRSA tit. 20-A, § 5001-A, sub-§3.A.(4)(b). By law, parents must keep copies of items submitted until the homeschool program concludes. They must be made available to the commissioner upon request. The confidentiality of all records is protected. MRSA tit. 20-A, § 5001-A, sub-§3.A.(4)(c).
Teacher Qualifications: None.
Annual Assessment: Students must annually submit the results of an assessment from among the following options:
1. Review and acceptance of progress by: (a) a Maine certified teacher; (b) a homeschool support group that includes for this purpose a Maine certified teacher or administrator who has reviewed a portfolio of the student’s work; or (c) a local advisory board appointed by the superintendent composed of two homeschool teachers and one school official (must be arranged with school system before school year starts).
2. Official results of any national standardized achievement test; or
3. Results of a test developed by local school officials.
* Visit the website for your town office to find the correct mailing address for your local superintendent.
Steps to Comply
In May 2003, Governor John Baldacci signed into law a complete overhaul of Maine's homeschool regulations. Since then, the law has provided clarity and security to homeschooling families throughout Maine.
Under the law, those wishing to begin homeschooling a child (who has reached his or her 6th birthday or who has not reached his or her 17th birthday) for the first time in Maine must file a written notice of intent within the period of 10 days before and 10 days after the beginning of the child's home instruction program.
This applies to a child removed from school to be homeschooled at any point during the school year, or to a child who moved into Maine at any point during the school year. If the child is currently enrolled in a public or private school, it is advisable (though not required) to file the notice of intent—or at least give the school informal notice—before the child is withdrawn.
The notice of intent must be filed with the local school superintendent of your school administrative unit (you can find this address at the website for your town office), who will share that notice with the Commissioner of Education at the Maine Department of Education in Augusta. It must include: the full name, signature, and address of the parent or guardian, the full name and age of the student, the date home instruction will or did begin, a statement of assurance that instruction will be provided for at least 175 days annually and will cover the following subjects: English and language arts, math, science, social studies, physical education, health education, library skills, fine arts, Maine studies (in at least one grade between grades 6 and 12); and that the student(s) will demonstrate proficiency in the use of the computer (in one grade between grades 7 and 12). A statement of assurance that the parents will submit a year-end assessment.
Each subsequent year, by September 1 the family must file a “subsequent year” letter with the local school administrative unit. The letter must state whether the student's home instruction program will continue. It should be signed by the parent or guardian, and include the parent or guardian's full name and address, and, of course, the child's full name. The family must enclose a copy of the previous year's annual assessment results for the child.
Both the one-time notice of intent and the letter each subsequent year should be clear and legible, or you may be inconvenienced by an official contacting you for clarification. The law requires you to keep copies of all items that must be submitted until the homeschool program concludes. (It is advisable to keep them longer). They must be made available to the commissioner upon request.
When mailing documents to the school administrative unit, we strongly recommend using certified mail, return receipt requested, so you can prove that you sent the required documents if that ever becomes necessary. Carefully file the green postal receipts.
More Info & Resources
Letters of Intent
NOTICE OF INTENT TO HOMESCHOOL
If you are just beginning to homeschool AND your child has reached his/her 6th birthday or has not yet reached his/her 17th birthday, you will need to file a Notice of Intent to Provide Home Instruction. Use the printable version of the Notice of Intent form below. Send a copy of the notice of intent to your local school superintendent, as required by law.
SUBSEQUENT YEAR LETTER TO HOMESCHOOL
If you have been homeschooling during the past academic school year and plan to continue homeschooling during the next school year, you will need to file a Subsequent Year Letter to Homeschool along with the results of an annual assessment. Use the printable version of the Subsequent Year Letter to Homeschool form below for children who were homeschooled in Maine during the past academic school year. Send a copy of the subsequent letter to your local school superintendent, as required by law.